Mohammed ben Sulayem with all the trohpy winners

22nd May 2016, Dubai, UAE-The third season of the Emirates Desert Championship, the UAE’s National Baja Rally championship for cars, buggies, motorcycles and quads, concluded on Saturday 22nd May 2016 with a gala prize giving at the Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel in Dubai.

All the season’s prize givers were in attendance with Emirati’s Khalid Al Jafla and Ahmed Al Fahim collecting the Overall Prizes for winning the AUTO and BUGGY competitions respectively, while South African Ross Runnalls collected the trophy for winning the MOTO competition following a dominant campaign. Mansoor Al Suwaidi became the third different Emirati winner of the Quad Class in three years.

Mohammed Ben Sulayem, Chairman of the EMSF and President of both the ATCUAE and UAEMC, was on hand to present the awards and was quick to praise the enthusiasm and commitment of all the season’s competitors.

“It’s been a great year of racing, and, most importantly, it’s been a safe year where we have been fortunate to avoid any major injuries. It is important that we continue to grow and sustain this championship, which is already the biggest series in the entire Middle East region in terms of entry,” said Ben Sulayem.

The trophies for the respective team competitions were also awarded, with the Polaris Racing Team UAE taking the honours for the AUTO/BUGGY competition, and Vendetta Racing KTM UAE winning the MOTO team competition.

The event doubled as a celebration of the efforts for the volunteer marshals who have worked tirelessly throughout the season on the Emirates Desert Challenge, culminating with the World Championship Abu Dhabi Desert Challenge.

“Motorsport will always be high risk, but our team of volunteers are always prepared for every situation to ensure that the events are run to a high and safe standard. This day is as much for them as it is for the competitors, and I would like to take this opportunity to thank them myself for their efforts again this season”, Ben Sulayem added.

The fourth season of the Emirates Desert Championship will start in October 2016.

The Emirates Desert Championship is organised by the Emirates Motorsport Federation (EMSF), with the support of the Automobile and Touring Club of the UAE (ATCUAE) and the UAE Motorcycle Club (UAEMC).