Formula Gulf: Danish driver Poulsen takes Pole, two wins and breaks lap record at Yas Marina Circuit

Formula Gulf: Danish driver Poulsen takes Pole, two wins and breaks lap record at Yas Marina Circuit

Double Win for Poulsen

18th March 2016-The Yas Marina circuit penultimate rounds (11/12) saw 16 year old Cato Poulsen take pole, win two races and beat the lap record which had stood for over three years. He had to work very hard to beat Quka (Gulhuseyn Abdullayev) who is Azerbaijan’s best young racer.

The Abu Dhabi Yas round also saw the return of the ever popular Emirati racer Saeed Bintouq after enjoying two seasons driving for the Citroen Abu Dhabi Racing Team in the FIA Middle East Rally Championship. Bintouq was on the pace straight away with a 3rd place trophy in his first comeback single seater race.

There is an interesting scrap for the Vice Champion title between Dubai based Italian Guilio Peroni, Saudi’s Omar Gazzaz and Quka who missed the first six rounds. Gazzaz made a small mistake with his braking in the first race which led to a DNF, and then Peroni put in a stunning performance to get on the podium in the second race to move himself into that important second position.

So there is quite a bit of pressure on these dedicated young drivers to put on their best performance at the last event of the season on 1st April where a new Formula Gulf Champion will be crowned and win an F3 test with Campos Racing in Spain.

The penultimate event of the 2016/17 Formula Gulf season clearly demonstrated the value of professional coaching. The outcome of driving identical cars with the exact same setup, sharing and analysing data from all of the cars, and being mentored by one of the world’s best driver coaches was that these young drivers put on a faultless display of racing skills whilst competing on a tricky 3.2kms circuit. Notably, during the course of the 10th race in their season, the gap between fastest and slowest driver was only six tenths of a second per lap.

GulfSport’s Barry Hope said “We are very pleased to have Campos Racing entrusting us with his development. Cato will again travel from Denmark for the last round on 1st April in Dubai and I’m sure that Quka will want to leave the series with some more trophies to show his supporters in Baku”.

Racing starts at 11.30 am on Friday 1st April at the Dubai Autodrome.

Round 10:
1st Cato Poulsen (Denmark)
2nd Gulhuseyn Abdullayev (Azerbaijan)
3rd Saeed Bintouq (UAE)
4th Guilio Peroni (Italy)
5th Omar Gazzaz (Saudi Arabia)

Round 11:
1st Cato Poulsen
2nd Gulhuseyn Abdullayev
3rd Guilio Peroni
4th Omar Gazzaz
5th Saeed Bintouq

Championship Points after 10 Rounds:
Cato Poulsen 295
Mashur Balhejaila 153
Omar Gazzaz 144
Giulio Peroni 152
Gulhuseyn Abdullayev 120
Abdallah Beshara 30
Saeed Bintouq 25

%d bloggers like this: