IndyLights: Dubai’s Ed Jones fights to last lap taking third in Championship in his rookie year

IndyLights: Dubai’s Ed Jones fights to last lap taking third in Championship in his rookie year


Sunday 13th Sep 2015 – Ed Jones, who had a tough battle to be in with a chance of the 2015 title, crossing the line in fourth place after a last lap move on Shelby Blackstock but lost out on the title in his rookie season and classified third overall.

After being consistently the fastest driver all weekend, team mate Chilton started from pole position for the customary rolling start. It was a messy one, with championship contender Jack Harvey making an over enthusiastic start and jumping Chilton who was controlling proceedings. Forced to defend, Chilton had no choice but to push, and so the race started with Chilton defending from Harvey, which allowed Spencer Pigot and Sean Rayhall into first and second respectively. Somehow, Chilton managed to avoid going off, but was now third while Jones was fifth.

With championship leader Pigot now leading the race, Jones saw his championship hopes dashed, despite now being ahead of Harvey who had been sent to the back of the field for jumping the start. The Indy Lights rookie wasn’t about to give up though and kept pushing despite being potentially out of the title hunt.

The field was bunched up twice behind the safety car and at the second restart Chilton had a run on second placed man Rayhall although couldn’t find a way past. The Carlin driver was displaying strong pace though, breaking the racing track record previously set by Helio Castroneves.

With only two laps to go and his title hopes over, Jones was still pushing and was now right with Blackstock in the fight for fourth. Jones took the place on the white flag lap, claiming more points for his championship tally which put him third behind newly crowned champion Pigot and runner-up Jack Harvey.

Ed Jones

Ed Jones

Reflecting on his season, Jones said, “We started off the season really well with three wins but had a few unfortunate races afterwards. We had strong pace all year but just missed putting everything together partly through not knowing the circuit and lack of experience. But we’ve proved we’re front runners. Things could so easily have gone the other way and we could have been walking away with the championship.”




Final Championship standings 2015

1 Spencer Pigot – R 357
2 Jack Harvey 330
3 Ed Jones – R 324
4 RC Enerson – R 295
5 Max Chilton – R 258
6 Kyle Kaiser – R 237
7 Felix Serralles – R 225
8 Juan Piedrahita 223
9 Scott Anderson 219
10 Shelby Blackstock – R 218


%d bloggers like this: