Australian Superbike Championship: Maxwell grabs clean sweep at Mallala

Australian Superbike Championship: Maxwell grabs clean sweep at Mallala

Packed grids for the second round of the Swann Australian Superbike Championship

Team Motul Honda rider Wayne Maxwell has again performed a clean sweep at Mallala in South Australia, to take out the Superbike class at the second round of the 2014 Swann Insurance Australian Superbike Championship.

It was the first time the Swann Superbike Series had been back to Mallala for more than five years, and the racing did not disappoint the healthy crowd in attendance.

Maxwell was a model of consistency over the three races winning all three and catapulting himself into the outright championship lead.

And it was a 1-2 podium finish for Team Honda Racing with Jamie Stauffer claiming second, third and second from his three races to finish second overall on the day.

Both the first and the third race of the day saw extremely close finishes with Maxwell passing Stauffer on the second last lap (race one) and the final corner (race three) to take the sweep.

Yamaha Racing Team’s Robbie Bugden was a consistent performer with his third, fourth and fifth placings enough to earn a spot on the podium in third overall.

Cru Halliday (Yamaha Racing Team) and Troy Herfoss (Team Honda Racing) rounded out the top five.


In the overall standings Maxwell has leapt into an eight-point lead over Stauffer, with BikeBiz Racing Kawasaki’s Sean Condon a further 32 points behind in third.

In the Supersport category, Queenslander Callum Spriggs took round honours following his opening race win and second place finish in the second race.

Aaron Morris won the second race of the day, and when paired with his opening race finish of third, was enough to place him in second overall for the round.

Maxima Yamaha rider Aiden Wagner rounded out the overall podium with a second and fourth from his two races.

Local hero Daniel Falzon and New South Welshman Patrick Medcalf finished in fourth and fifth overall respectively.

The round win has consolidated Spriggs’ championship lead, holding a seven-point buffer to Morris, with Wagner a further five points behind in third.

Kyle Buckley took out the Kawasaki Insurances FX 300 Ninja Cup with a clean sweep at the second round, ahead of Brandon Demmery and Paul Young.

In the Kawasaki Ninja FX 250 category, Grant Jordan won both of his races to finish in front of Joshua McHenry and Stuart Green.

Victorian Chris Trounson took 72 of the 75 available points on offer in the Forumla Oz class to take the outright honours while Hudson Pitt edged out Sophie Lovett to take the overall points in the Forumla Oz B-Grade class.

Ryan Hampton won all three races in the Formula Oz C-Grade class while Daniel Parker claimed the round win in the D-Grade class.

Angus Reekie won all three races (as he did at the opening round) to claim top spot in the Nakedbikes – F1 class.


%d bloggers like this: