Karting: Al Ain Ramadan Superprix finale crowns Oman Karting Team as Champions

Karting: Al Ain Ramadan Superprix finale crowns Oman Karting Team as Champions

Oman Karting Team victorious after four rounds

Friday 3rd Sept- The season finale of the 2010 Ramadan Super Prix Challenge at Al Ain Raceway, was in  keeping with the preceding three rounds, the racing proved as exciting as ever. The Championship title was still up for grabs with potential candidates including the Oman Karting Team drivers – Abdullah and Sanad Al Rawahi – separated by a single point, Mohammed Al Mutawaa in hot pursuit, Khalid Al Nahyan, Hussein Umid Ali Al Baloushi, Atef Al Barwani and Michel Karam. Al Ain Raceway was to run its exclusive “Grand Prix” Circuit for the series closer, made up of a tight slow hairpin and a ferociously long back straight, which would certainly encourage overtaking.

Sheikh Khalid Al Nahyan

Qualifying maintained series tradition by highlighting the sheer pace of the Al Rawahi brothers, who with lap times of 1:17.704 and 1:17.749 locked out the front row once more, Abdullah claiming Pole from Sanad.  Mohammed Al Mutawaa sat firmly in third place posting a qualifying best of 1:18.113 and was joined on row 2 by Khalid Al Nahyan whose best time matched Al Mutawaa – 1:18.127.  Atef Al Barwani lined up on the third row on a 1:18.842 and was joined by Michel Karam in sixth with a best time of 1:19.412.  Hussein Umid Ali and Saad Salman made up row four.

Once the Heat was underway the Al Rawahi brothers stated their intentions by maintaining first and second places and sensibly chose not to race each other too hard.  This allowed them to pull away from the pack without holding each other up playing defence/offence. The tactics worked brilliantly and at the halfway mark, with a gap of seven seconds back to the third place fight, battle could commence. Abdullah had lead Sanad throughout, but Sanad, leading by a solitary point in the Championship fought hard to increase his lead by 2 points. Abdullah wasn’t prepared to yield and the two brothers passed and re-passed each other all the way to the flag, Abdullah crossing first 0.42 seconds ahead of Sanad.

Sanad (left) Abdullah (middle) Al Rawahi and Mohammed Al Mutawaa (right)

After a brief recess the Final, and last race of the Championship got underway. Tension was in the air as Sanad and Abdullah Al Rawahi would start on the same total of points. Whoever finished ahead would be crowned Champion.

At the lights the situation of Sanad vs Abdullah, Mohammed vs Khalid and Hussein vs Atef vs Michel resumed itself, it was almost as if racing hadn’t stopped. Abdullah looked far more dominating this time around and set about his focus on pulling out a safety margin on his team-mate. A tenth here and a tenth there was all that was required to give himself some breathing room. Sanad, head down, kept his foot planted with the sole intention of keeping with his sibling, he kept in check as best as he could.  It was a similar situation between Mohammed and Khalid.  Mohammed – giving it a bit of Karters-crouch on the straight to aid his aerodynamics – tried desperately to build a cushion between himself and Khalid. Khalid kept his foot in and remained as close as he could, but by the end of the race, he was a sure three seconds adrift, finishing fourth behind Mohammed. Once more the three way battle between Atef, Hussein and Michel had reached boiling point. Hussein got the jump on Atef three laps from home to claim fifth while Atef was able to hold off Michel for sixth. All the attention however was on the front two when the chequered flag went out, Abdullah – arms in the air – crossed the line in first to complete a perfect day (Pole, fastest lap and two wins) with brother Sanad crossing the line 3 seconds back in second.

Abdullah Al Rawahi was crowned Ramadan Super Prix Challenge Champion 2010 and took home a 42″ SONY LCD TV.  Sanad Al Rawahi finished as Runner-up and claimed the prize of tour tickets at Yas Marina and Mohammed Al Mutawaa claimed third and took home a European flight ticket courtesy of Etihad Airways. Thomas Buro was awarded the Sportsmanship award.

Al Ain Raceway would like to thank all the drivers who supported the series this year, the driving standards were some of the best seen.  The circuit would also like to thank its partners Red Bull, Etihad Airways and Arab Motors TV for their donations and support throughout, all the competitors were thankful for their efforts.

Result:                                                                   Best lap:        Time/Gap:

1st Abdullah Al Rawahi                            1:17.624s                00:19:33.265

2nd Sanad Al Rawahi                                  1:17.988s                + 3.95s

3rd Mohammed Al Mutawaa                    1:18.163s                + 7.24s

4th Sheikh Khalid Al Nahyan                   1:18.446s                + 10.33s

5th Hussein Umid Ali Al Baloushi           1:18.321s                + 20.39s

6th Atef Al Barwani                                   1:18.801s                + 23.28s

7th Michel Karam                                       1:18.304s                + 23.76s

8th Saad Salman                                          1:20.339s                + 48.99s

9th Sultan Al Kindi                                     1:20.613s                + 1:01.99s

10th Saleh Al Khouri                                    1:21.293s                + 1:03.48s

11th Ammar Al Baloushi                             1:20.344s                + 1:03.79s

12th Thomas Buro                                        1:21.662s                + 1:09.75s

13th Zayed Jaffar                                          1:22.448s                + 1:23.16s

14th Omar Al Baloushi                                1:22.755s                + 1 lap

15th Azzan Al Balousho                              1:27.363s                + 1 lap

%d bloggers like this: