WRC: Mohamed A Mutawaa to compete in Junior WRC 2015

WRC: Mohamed A Mutawaa to compete in Junior WRC 2015

Mohamed AL Mutawaa_Stephen McAuley to JWRC 2015_1

Abu Dhabi 27th November, 2014 – During Dubai International Rally press conference, Sheikh Khalid bin Faisal Al Qassimi, Chairman of Abu Dhabi Racing announced that Mohamed Al Mutawaa will compete in a full campaign of the FIA Junior World Rally Championship (J-WRC) in the 2015 season, for Abu Dhabi Racing behind the wheel of the Citroën DS3 R3.

The 21-year-old achieved this fantastic breakthrough in his career following his brief campaign in the WRC3 feeder series earlier this year in Germany and Spain – which he did in preparation for his full participation in the J-WRC next year.

The opportunity to race in Germany and Spain and then do a full J-WRC programme next year is a fitting reward for Al Mutawaa after an excellent performance in the FIA Middle East Rally Championship (MERC). Al Mutawaa recorded three consecutive victories in his 2WD class with ADR’s programme, the Abu Dhabi Racing – Citroën Middle East Trophy.

In the current MERC season, the Al Mutawaa triumphed in Qatar, Kuwait and Jordan in his Citroën DS3 R3 2WD.

“Al Mutawaa has proved himself driving with exceptional skill and discipline in our ‘Abu Dhabi Racing – Citroën Middle East Trophy’ programme and he has shown that he is dedicated to building a new UAE generation of rally drivers,” Said Sheikh Khalid bin Faisal Al Qassimi, Chairman of Abu Dhabi Racing.

Al Mutawaa was delighted on being provided with this huge opportunity, saying: “This is a dream opportunity for me and I would like to thank Sheikh Khalid bin Faisal Al Qassimi, Chairman of the Abu Dhabi Racing, for the grant provided to us through the ADR programme. I hope to use this opportunity to build my career in the right way and to raise the UAE flag high by representing ADR in the Middle East and the world.”

In addition to the J-WRC, Al Mutawaa will also participate in most of the MERC rounds next season.

The J-WRC is largely considered as the breeding ground for future rally stars and is aimed at drivers aged 28 or under, eventually representing a cost-effective route to the WRC. Previous winners of the J-WRC include nine-time WRC champion Sébastien Loeb (2001), Dani Sordo (2005), Sébastien Ogier (2008) and Martin Prokop (2009).

Warning: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable in /home/circuitp/public_html/wp-content/plugins/custom-facebook-feed-pro/cff-init.php on line 2485

facebook feed