WTCC: Lopez wins race one as Chinese driver Qing Hua takes historic win in race two

WTCC: Lopez wins race one as Chinese driver Qing Hua takes historic win in race two

Ma Qing Hua became the first-ever Chinese driver to win a race in an FIA World Championship

Moscow Raceway, Russia-History was made today in the WTCC at the Moscow Raceway today when Ma Qing Hua became the first-ever Chinese driver to win a race in an FIA World Championship.

The fact that Ma drove a fourth factory Citroën C-Elysée helped him immensely of course, but to win on the WTCC debut still demands a serious set of driving skills.

Championship leader José Maria López had a weekend of mixed emotions, winning the first race after leading every corner of every lap, and then retiring from Race 2 when the gear linkage broke on the starting grid; the first time López did not score any points in a race.

This allowed reigning world champion Yvan Muller to close the gap to the Argentine a bit, though there is still half of the championship to be run. With Sébastien Loeb in third in the first race, all four Citroën drivers had a taste of the podium.

Muller and Loeb are not lying 41 and 48 points behind López, respectively.

Once again Honda’s expectations after a promising qualifying were disappointed. The two podiums claimed by Gabriele Tarquini and Mehdi Bennani were a meagre consolation as the Japanese cars are not yet enough performing and reliable to match Citroën’s performance.

Franz Engstler continued his triumphant march in the TC2T class by taking two further wins.

Official figures released by the track spoke of 22,000 spectators over the two days.

The championship will resume at Spa-Francorchamps, on June 22 for rounds 13 and 14.


José Maria López scored a commanding win in the first of the two Russian rounds of the FIA WTCC.

The Argentine came briefly under attack from Gabriele Tarquini at the start of the race, but a misunderstanding between Monteiro and Tarquini that resulted in a slight contact gave him the necessary room to take a defining lead already after just one corner.

Sébastien Loeb finished in third, just 0.2 seconds behind the Honda of Tarquini, while reigning world champion Yvan Muller managed to take fourth place from Tom Chilton on the final lap.

Citroën’s newcomer Ma Qing Hua scored his first WTCC points by finishing in sixth, while Rob Huff claimed a tenth place for LADA.

In TC2T Franz Engstler scored yet another win ahead of his team mate Pasquale di Sabatino


Ma Qing Hua, driving a fourth works Citroën car, wrote history today by becoming the first-ever Chinese driver to win a race of an FIA World Championship.

On the opposite end of the scale of happiness, WTCC points leader José Maria López stalled on the grid and retired; the first time this season the Argentine driver does not score any points. The works Honda cars, too, had a race to forget with both Gabriele Tarquini and Tiago Monteiro retiring for technical reasons while fighting for podium positions.

Honda privateer Mehdi Bennani saved the day for the Japanese manufacturer by finishing in third. Franz Engstler encored his victory in the TC2T class.

José María López (winner of Race 1): “The start of the first race was crucial, but then again not for the full 100% as I was also thinking about scoring points for the championship, rather than just trying everything in the first corner to take the lead. But Tarquini apparently had an issue so that left the door wide open and I could gradually extend my lead on every lap. It’s always nice to start the weekend with a win! Then in the second race I couldn’t get the car in first gear on the grid. I tried hard and broke the gear linkage, so that was it.”

Ma Qing Hua (winner of Race 2): “It wasn’t easy yesterday in practice and qualifying, but gradually we managed to improve. For the races the car was just perfect. At the start of the second race I had a good scrap with Norbert Michelisz for second place, which soon became first place, once the leader had to pit. I did my very best to make a clean pass which took a few laps, and after that I could enjoy the race from the front.”



1. José-María López (Citroën C-Elysée WTCC)
2. Gabriele Tarquini (Honda Civic WTCC)
3. Sébastien Loeb (Citroën C-Elysée WTCC)
4. Yvan Muller (Citroën C-Elysée WTCC)
5. Tom Chilton (Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1)
6. Ma Qing Hua (Citroën C-Elysée WTCC)
7. Tiago Monteiro (Honda Civic WTCC)
8. Tom Coronel (Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1)
9. Norbert Michelisz (Honda Civic WTCC)
10. Rob Huff (Lada Granta 1.6T)
FL: José-María López – 1:40.148

1. Ma Qing Hua (Citroën C-Elysée WTCC)
2. Yvan Muller (Citroën C-Elysée WTCC)
3. Mehdi Bennani (Honda Civic WTCC)
4. Tom Coronel (Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1)
5. Sébastien Loeb (Citroën C-Elysée WTCC)
6. Tom Chilton (Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1)
7. Norbert Michelisz (Honda Civic WTCC)
8. Gianni Morbidelli (Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1)
9. Hugo Valente (Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1)
10. René Munnich (Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1)
FL: Hugo Valente – 1:40.742

1. José-María López 209 pts
2. Yvan Muller 168 pts
3. Sébastien Loeb 161 pts
4. Tiago Monteiro 105 pts
5. Gabriele Tarquini 96 pts
12. Ma Qing Hua 33 pts

1. Citroën Total 502 pts
2. Honda 333 pts
3. Lada 165 pts

1 hr ago


... See Less

Load more
%d bloggers like this: