UK: Olivers Mount road racing – Ian Watson Spring Cup – 13th April 2014

UK: Olivers Mount road racing – Ian Watson Spring Cup – 13th April 2014

Guy Martin on route to an hat-trick of wins on the season opener at Olivers Mount

Guy Martin retained the Ian Watson Cup at the popular Oliver’s Mount opening road race of the season and the first round of the Duke Road Race Rankings Series 2014.

The Tyco Suzuki rider opened his account with a four-second victory in the first race of the day, the Senior A (1000cc) Final, following that with a five-second win in the Junior (600cc) and completed his first ‘hat-trick’ of the season with another four second win in the feature Ian Watson Spring Cup Race.

Clear blue skies greeted all involved with the opening road race of the 2014 season, the Ian Watson Spring Cup at Oliver’s Mount, Scarborough.

With the winter blues being blown away during practice and qualifying the first of 12 races, the Senior A Race over eight laps of the 2.43-mile hillside course grabbed the large crowd of spectators attention as the ‘Young Pretenders’ Lee Johnston, Dean Harrison, Ivan Lintin, James Cowton pitted their skills against old-timer Guy Martin.

Lee Johnston got the hole-shot but at the end of the first lap it was Guy Martin ahead by 0.003 of a second with Ivan Lintin third 0.8 of a second adrift, followed by Dean Harrison, James Cowton and Mick Goodings.

A lap later, Johnston was back in front followed by Martin and Harrison. It was the same at the conclusion of the third circuit.

Half distance saw Guy Martin in front by one-second from Johnston with Harrison near on half a second down in third.

Lap five and Martin was now 3.3.seconds ahead, with Harrison now just two-tenths of a second down in third. Lintin, Cowton and Jamie Coward completed the top six.

Lap six and Harrison was up to second 3.9 seconds adrift of Martin.

The penultimate saw Martin’s lead cut to 3.2 seconds by Dean Harrison, and at the chequered flag it was Guy Martin having pulled the stops out to finish 4.189 seconds ahead of Dean Harrison with Lee Johnston third. Followed by Ivan Linton, James Cowton and Jamie Coward.

TYCO Suzuki mounted Guy Martin in scintillating form at the 'Mount'

Race Four, Guy Martin had pole position in this Junior A Final eight lapper, but fluffed the start, which James Cowton took full advantage of leading into Mere Hairpin and held the lead at the end of the lap by 1.4 seconds from Seamus Elliott and Guy Martin a further 3/10th behind in third.

The leading trio were followed by Daley Mathison, Dean Harrison and Tom Weeden.

Lap two and Martin was now second just 1/10th of a second down on Cowton with Harrison third.

Lap three saw Martin in the lead by one second from Cowton and Harrison with Harrison only 4/10ths down on the second place man.

Lap four and the lead was up to 2.4 seconds for Martin as Harrison took over second place from Cowton, one second down on Harrison.

Lap five and the gap between first and second remained the same, as Cowton slipped back a further three seconds.

Lap six and Martin’s lead increased slightly by 4/10ths of a second.

Lap seven and the lead was up to 3.7 seconds, with Cowton dropping back a further eight seconds on Harrison.

At the flag it was Guy Martin, from Dean Harrison, James Cowton, Ivan Lintin, Seamus Elliott and Daley Mathison. The winning advantage 5.222 seconds.

Guy Martin on route to retaining the 'Ian Watson Cup' on the TYCO Suzuki

Race ten the feature race, the Ian Watson Spring Cup had Guy Martin in Pole position for the eight lap race.

Lee Johnston and Guy Martin were side by side as they approached Mere Hairpin and it was Guy Martin from Lee Johnston one second behind with Ivan Lintin third, followed by Dean Harrison, James Cowton and Seamus Elliott.

Lap two Ivan Lintin moved into second at the end of the lap, pushing Johnston back to third – the gap now 2.78 seconds.

Lap three Dean Harrison was now up to third one second behind Lintin.

Lap four and Martin increased his lead to 3.33 seconds.

Lap five and positions remained the same, but by lap six Harrison was n, the gap being down to 0.3 of a second.

Lap seven and positions were static, with Lintin pulling out 2/10th of a second to widen the distance between himself and Harrison.

At the flag it was Guy Martin 3.937 seconds ahead of Ivan Lintin, with Dean Harrison third, followed by Lee Johnston, James Cowton, Seamus Elliott.

It was Guy’s third Ian Watson Spring Cup victory.

Written report – Phil Edge

Photo’s – Glynne Lewis


Load more
%d bloggers like this: