Drag Racing: Round One of the Pro series at Yas Marina brings big purse win for Al Kaabi in Pro Mod class

Drag Racing: Round One of the Pro series at Yas Marina brings big purse win for Al Kaabi in Pro Mod class

Abu Dhabi, 31 January 2011 – Ali Al Kaabi won the top prize of AED 50,000 driving his black Cavalier in the Pro Drag Racing Series at Yas Marina Circuit on Saturday (29 January) with an elapsed time of 3.90 seconds and a terminal speed of 303 km/h in the Pro Mod class. The races were run over one eighth of a mile (201 metres) rather than the usual quarter mile (402 metres) due to the aftermath of a heavy sand storm in the area.

Winners with Saeed Al Marzouqi - President of Top Speed (Sponsor of Pro Modified Class)

Surprise performance of the night came from Fadi Tammour, who had just graduated from the Yas Drag Racing School earlier in the week to gain his National Hot Rod Association (NHRA) licence. Driving one of the new Yas Super Comp dragsters, he won the 4.80 Super Eliminator class with time of exactly 4.80 seconds at 225 km/h to win AED 20,000.

“This was a great performance by Fadi,” said Rashed Al Qubaisi, head of the Yas Drag Racing Centre. “To win your first race in a Super Comp just days after qualifying to drive it is an incredible result.”

Al Qubaisi said he was very pleased with the success of the event, which attracted leading drivers from across the GCC. It was the first of four races in the Pro Series, with the ultimate series winner taking away AED 1 million in prize money.

“I would like to congratulate the winners of all seven classes,” he said. “We look forward to welcoming them back again for the second round, which will take place on 4-5 March 2011 as part of our Drag Racing Festival. “

Full details of the race winners and prize money across the seven classes are as follows:

Pro Modified
Winner – #302 A. Al Kaabi, ET 3.90 seconds, 303 km/h, winning AED 50,000

Runner-up – #300 K. Ali, ET 4.02 seconds, 295 km/h, winning AED 25,000

Super Street 8
Winner – # 378 H. Mohammed, ET 4.94 seconds, 227 km/h, winning AED 18,000

Runner-up – #380 A. Abdulla, Stage Foul (no time and speed), winning AED 8,000

Pro Bike
Winner – # 404 M. Bourashid, ET 4.20 seconds, 259 km/h, winning AED 15,000

Runner-up – # 407 A. Al Nukhilan, ET 4.48 seconds, 252 km/h, winning AED 6,000

Outlaw 10.5
Winner – #317 H. Mohammed, ET 5.94 seconds, 206 km/h, winning AED 30,000

Runner-up – # 318 Y. Al Ali, ET 12.26 seconds, 93 km/h, winning AED 10,000

Street Bike
Winner – #418 M. Al Turki, ET 4.76 seconds, 248 km/h, winning AED 10,000

Runner-up – #420 F. Al Hamoud, ET 4.96 seconds, 252 km/h, winning AED 4,000

4.80 Super Eliminator
Winner – #336 F. Tammour, ET 4.80 seconds, 225 km/h, winning AED 20,000
Runner-up – #334 H. Mohd, ET 4.81 seconds, 227 km/h, winning AED 7,500

Pro 6
Winner – #367 F. Abdullah, ET 5.31 seconds, 216 km/h, winning AED 15,000
Runner-up – #356 F. Al Shamsi, ET 5.80 seconds, 212 km/h, winning AED 6,000

For more information please visit yasmarinacircuit.com or the official Yas Marina Circuit fan page at www.facebook.com/home.php#!/yasmarinacircuit

facebook feed