Al Ain Superprix karting: Omani karting team dominates as Sanad continues with a brace of wins

Al Ain Superprix karting: Omani karting team dominates as Sanad continues with a brace of wins

Ramadan Super Prix Challenge Round 3 podium

Excellent temperatures surrounded the Al Ain Raceway’s Club Circuit for the third installment of the 2010 Ramadan Super Prix Challenge. The Oman Karting Team drivers, Sanad, Abdullah and Rawahi were looking to tighten their grip on the series, whilst hot-shots Mohammed Al Mutawaa, Sheikh Khalid Al Nahyan, Michel Karam and Hussein Umid Ali Al Baloushi were looking to spoil the Oman Karting Team’s party and close the gap on the series leaders. The format of the event included a single 10-minute qualifying session and two 20-minute races.

In qualifying, Abdullah Al Rawahi posted the pole position time of 49.85s with his team mate Sanad coming in third fastest with a 50.13. Mohammed Al Mutawaa split the Oman Karting team by slotting in second place, posting a best lap of 49.92. Atef Al Barwani qualified in fourth place closely followed by Hussien Umid Ali, Michel Karam, Arif Abdulhameed and Sheikh Khalid Al Nahyan. Saleh Al Khouri qualified in ninth place and Harsh Rajpal tenth.

Race 1 was an intense affair with blue flags flapping around all over the place to allow the leaders through. At the start, Sanad Al Rawahi made a blistering start to depose Al Mutawaa. Abdullah Al Rawahi tried desperately to hold on to his position but approaching the chicane in the early laps, he made an error that handed brother Sanad the lead. Also slipping by were Al Mutawaa and Al Barwani leaving Abdullah fourth and chasing. Throughout the majority of the race there were two herculean battles, Sanad and Mohammed for first, and Abdullah and Atef for third. Mohammed made several attempts to pass Sanad and often found himself in the lead, only for Sanad to claim it right back.

The two chopped and changed places more times than the officials could count. But, 3 laps from home, Al Mutawaa put a wheel on the dirt on the exit of the chicane and found him several kart-lengths back, making a comeback challenge seem impossible. Meanwhile the fight for third was following suit and proving to be as or even more exciting. Sadly, his battle was decided by a back-marker who failed to adhere to the blue flag that had been administered, knocking into Abdullah causing him to lose momentum and allow Al Barwani through to finish third.

Ramadan Super Prix Challenge Round 3

The Final race was a far more conservative affair after Race Director Marty Fullard, issued a stern finger-wagging sermon about blue flag conduct. Once Karting justice had been administered the race was underway. Sanad Al Rawahi converted his Pole position into an instant lead, with Mohammed Al Mutawaa maintaining his second spot. Drama at the chicane on the opening lap, Hussein Umid Ali innocently clipped Michel Karam’s stern forcing him into a spin.  Michel decided that there was little point carrying on and decided to retire and join the masses in the Grandstand.

Abdullah and Al Barwani picked up their battle by jousting each other in much the same fashion as before. Once again passing and re-passing each other until lap 8 when Abdullah made it stick and cruised by to open a healthy gap back.  Al Barwani tried as hard as he could but he could not quite keep up with the pace of his young fellow pilot.

Behind all this Sheikh Khalid was battling with Hussein with the pair trading lap times and remaining within close proximity to one another. However all eyes were at the front as Oman Karting Teams Sanad Al Rawahi kept building the gap over his closest challenger Mohammed Al Mutawaa and crossed the line in first place a full 9 seconds clear.

Mohammed crossed the line second with Abdullah Al Rawahi a further 7 seconds back in third.

Going into next weeks season finale, Sanad Al Rawahi leads the Championship on 313 points to brother Abdullahs’ 312.  Mohammed Al Mutawaa trails on 297 with Sheikh Khalid Al Nahyan on 281.

Position:                                     Best lap:                       Time/Gap:

1st Sanad Al Rawahi                         49.354s             19:57.38

2nd Mohammed Al Mutawaa   49.620s              + 8.84s

3rd Abdullah Al Rawahi               49.453s              + 13.54s